National Honor Society for Women in Chemistry



-from the American Chemical Society

PURPOSE: To recognize distinguished service to chemistry by women chemists.

NATURE: The award consists of $5,000, a medallion with a presentation box, and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The medallion will be presented during the award address.

ELIGIBILTY: A nominee must be a citizen of the United States and have performed distinguished service to chemistry. The award will be granted regardless of race, age, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

DEADLINE: November 1 (annual review).

ESTABLISHMENT & SUPPORT: The award was established in 1936 through a donation from Francis P. Garvan and has been supported by a fund set up at that time. The award was sponsored by W. R. Grace and Co. from 1979 to 1983. Effective with the 1984 award, Olin Corporation assumed sponsorship.


1937 Emma Perry Carr
1940 Mary E. Pennington
1942 Florence B. Seibert
1946 lcie Macy Hooblar
1948 Gerti T. Cori
1949 Agnes Fay Morgan
1950 Pauline Beery Mack
1952 Gladys Emerson
1953 Leonora Neuffler Bilger
1954 Betty Sullivan
1955 Grace Medes
1956 Allene R. Jeanes
1957 Lucy W. Pickett
1958 Arla Alden Green
1960 Mary L. Caldwell
1961 Sarah Ratner
1962 Helen M. Dyer
1965 Gertrude Perlmann
1966 Mary L. Peterman
1967 Marjorie J. Vold

1970 Ruth Benerito
1972 Jean'ne Shreeve
1973 Mary Good
1977 Marjorie Horning
1980 Helen M. Free
1981 Elizabeth Weisburger
1983 lnes Mandl
1986 Jeanette G. Grasselli
1988 Marye Anne Fox
1990 Darleane Hoffman
1991 Cynthia M. Friend
1992 Jacqueline K. Barton
1993 Edith M. Flanigan
1995 Angelica M. Stacy
1996 Geraldine L. Richmond
1998 Karen W, Morse
2000 F. Ann Walker
2002 Marion Thurnauer
2013 Susan Kauzlarich
2017 Barbara Finlayson-Pitts